Outgoing President Buhari approves renaming of 15 airports after some prominent Nigerians

Outgoing President Muhammadu Buhari, in a last-minute decision, has approved renaming of 15 airports after some prominent Nigerians.

The approval, according to a statement from the Ministry of Aviation signed by the Head of Press and Public Affairs, Odutayo Oluseyi, was given on Friday.

The airports are: Benin International Airport, now to be known as Oba Akinzua II; Akure International Airport, named after Olumuyiwa Bernard Aliu; Dutse International Airport, renamed Muhammed Nuhu Sanusi Airport; Ebonyi International Airport Okadigbo now known as Chuba Wilberforce Airport; and Gombe International Airport, renamed Brigadier Zakari Maimalari Airport.

Others also include Ibadan International Airport (Samuel Ladoke Akintola); Ilorin International Airport (General Tunde Abdullahi Idiagbon); Kaduna International Airport (Gen. Hassan Usman Katsina); and Maiduguri International Airport (President Muhammadu Buhari).

Others are Makurdi International Airport, renamed after Joseph Sarwuan Tarka; Minna International Airport, renamed Mall. Abubakar Imam Airport; Nasarawa International Airport, named after Sheikh Usman Danfodio; Osubi International Airport, renamed Alfred Diete-Spiff Airport; Port Harcourt International Airport, renamed Obafemi Jeremiah Awolowo Airport and Yola International Airport, now to be known as Lamido Aliyu Mustapha Airport.

Related news

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.