KDSG announces cabinet reshuffle, new appointments

Kaduna State governor, Nasir el-Rufa’i, has assigned new portfolios to some commissioners and senior officials of the State Government.

According to a press statement issued by the Special Adviser to the Governor (Media & Communication),
Muyiwa Adekeye, the governor said that the reshuffle is designed to help harness fresh energy for the government’s final lap, bring new insights and enable the commissioners to have more rounded experience of the government.

A statement from Sir Kashim Ibrahim House disclosed that eight of the 14 commissioners swapped portfolios. It however said there were no changes in the ministries of Finance, Justice, Health, Housing & Urban Development, Internal Security and Home Affairs and Human Services and Social Development.

The statement added that Muhammad Sani Abdullahi, the Chief of Staff, returns to the Planning & Budget Commission, the responsibility he held with distinction during el-Rufai’s first term. It is the second time that a chief of staff to the governor is being reassigned as Commissioner. In 2019, Muhammad Bashir Sa’idu, then Chief of Staff, was redeployed to the Ministry of Finance.

The new portfolios for the commissioners being reassigned are: Environment – Jaafaru Sani; Public Works and Infrastructure – Thomas Gyang; Education – Halima Lawal; Agriculture – Ibrahim Hussaini; Local Government – Shehu Usman Muhammad; Planning & Budget Commission – Muhammad Sani Abdullahi; Business, Innovation & Technology – Kabir Mato; Sports Development – Idris Nyam.

“Following the passage of the law creating metropolitan authorities to manage Kaduna, Kafanchan and Zaria as organic cities, Governor Nasir El-Rufai has nominated the following cabinet-rank administrators:
• Balaraba Aliyu-Inuwa Administrator, Zaria Metropolitan Authority
• Muhammad Hafiz Bayero Administrator, Kaduna Capital Territory
• Phoebe Sukai Yayi, Administrator, Kafanchan Municipal Authority.

Governor el-Rufa’i has also approved the deployment of the following officials:
• Umma Aboki – Permanent Secretary, Planning & Budget Commission
• Murtala Dabo – Executive Chairman, Fiscal Responsibility Commission
• Abubakar Hassan – D-G, Kaduna State Contributory Health Management Authority, (KADCHMA)
• Tamar Nandul – MD, Kaduna Markets Development & Management Company
• Khalil Nur Khalil – ES, Kaduna Investment Promotion Agency, (KADIPA)
• Maimunatu Abubakar – GM, Kaduna Environmental Protection Agency, (KEPA)

Amina Ladan will oversee the Kaduna State Roads Agency, (KADRA) following the redeployment of Engineer Muhammad Lawal Magaji to the Ministry of Public Works & Infrastructure”.

“The government also announced the appointments of Professor Mohammed Sani as chairman of the Local Government Service Board; Muhammed Muazu Muqaddas as Executive Secretary of the State Emergency Management Authority (SEMA) and Dr. Shuaibu Shehu Aliyu as Permanent Secretary.

The governor has nominated Dr. Ishaya Sarki Habu (chairman), Aminu Yusuf Musa, Engr. Rabiu Tanko and Rebecca Nnawo Barde as the new members of the Legislative Service Commission”, it added.

The governor, according to the statement, has conveyed the state government’s gratitude for the service of Aliyu Sa’idu, former DG-KADCHMA and Lawal Jibrin, former GM of KEPA, who it said are leaving the government.

Related news

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.