National Assembly Service Commission appoints acting clerk

The National Assembly Service Commission said it has named Ojo Amos Olatunde as Acting Clerk.

His appointment is coming a day after the commission queried Mohammed Sani-Omolori for refusing to retire as clerk after 35 years in service.

The commission had on Wednesday directed that those, who had attained the age of 60 or 35 years in service should proceed on compulsory retirement.

Sani-Omolori had spent 35 years in service but intended to continue in office.

The tenure of the clerk had generated controversy because of the implementation of the National Assembly Revised Condition of Service, which took effect in 2019.

In a statement on Friday, Ahmed Amshi, Chairman of the Commission, said Olatunde was appointed as acting Clerk after an emergency meeting.

Bala Yabani Mohammed was appointed acting Deputy Clerk of the National Assembly, and Dauda Ibrahim El-Ladan was made acting Clerk of the Senate.

Patrick Giwa was retained as Clerk of the House of Representatives until his retirement in November.

Also, Yusuf Asir Danbatta was appointed as acting Secretary to the commission.

“All appointments are with immediate effect,” Amshi said

Related news

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.