Kingmakers sue Ganduje for splitting Kano emirate

Kingmakers in Kano Emirate have dragged Governor Abdullahi Umar Ganduje to a State High Court challenging his decision to create four new Emirates in the state.

In the suit with number K/197/2019 filed on Tuesday at a State High Court, Ganduje, the State House of Assembly, Attorney-General of the state and five others were listed as the defendants, while the kingmakers— Yusuf Nabahani (Madakin Kano), Abdullahi Sarki Ibrahim (Makaman Kano), Bello Abubakar (Sarkin Dawaki man Tuta) and Mukhtari Adnan (Sarikin Ban Kano) — were listed as first, second, third and fourth plaintiffs respectively.

The kingmakers said the governor’s assent to the bill breaking up the emirate was done in bad faith and the action was a desecration of centuries old tradition.

They also asked the court to stop the governor from deposing Sanusi or transferring him out of Kano emirate without consulting them.

According to one of the reliefs they sought, the kingmakers lamented that giving effect to the purported law that brought about the four Emirates has distorted history, especially with regards to the positions they are holding in the emirate.

The top Emirate Council members further said their position is a heritage in trust for their respective clans of Jobawa, Sullubawa, Yolawa and Dambazawa.

The kingmakers are therefore seeking a declaration that the passage of the law breaking the emirate was not for peace, order and good governance of the state and therefore contrary to Section 4 (7) of the 1999 constitution.

They are also seeking a declaration that the governor lacks the power under the existing “emirs laws of Kano state, 1991 to appoint emirs of Bichi, Rano, Gaya, Karaye or any other person and that the appointments made are unconstitutional, illegal, null and void.”

The kingmakers are asking the court to give an order restraining the newly appointed monarchs from parading themselves as emirs.

Speculations were rife of how Ganduje moved to depose Muhammad Sanusi II as the emir of Kano or reduce his influence.

Following the governor’s approval, the state now has five emirates: Kano, Rano, Gaya, Karaye and Bichi and five emirs of equal jurisdiction.

Related posts

Leave a Reply